Days 75 + 76 (the end is nigh!!!)

Hello from Connecticut!!!!!

Photo on 6-22-13 at 5.22 PM

My mom, sister, and I just arrived at our hotel after our road trip from the cape and are lounging in our obscenely comfortable beds. (Can I take it home with me or is that frowned upon?)

Yesterday was my final day of training before the race; my training plan indicated “1-2 miles”, so I set out around 10 am towards the park by my street and just enjoyed the run, not paying attention to my pacing or my distance. It ended up being around a mile and a quarter at about about 9min/mile pace and just incredibly pleasant. The sun was shining, so when I got back to my house I just collapsed on my lawn and “stretched” (lay there like a dead person and take selfies).

gangsta

gangsta

IMG_3183

happy/sweaty/smelly

happy/sweaty/smelly

Because I didn’t have to work until 3:30 yesterday, I took some time to experiment in the kitchen and finally got around to trying out Chocolate Covered Katie’s agar pudding. I went with chocolate orange, and blueberry. They were so good that I forgot to take a picture until I was 3/4 of the way done eating them. Whoops!

... + half-finished orange chocolate

half-finished orange chocolate

half -finished blueberry

and half -finished blueberry

And to continue with the pictures of half-eaten food, here’s the scone my beautiful princess of a friend Aleksa brought to me at work:

IMG_3205

half-finished cranberry orange scone from the Underground Bakery

Today, I’ve been paying close attention to No Meat Athlete’s advice on day before and day of eating. Today is high carbo-loading (which I’m *hating*… oh wait no it’s the best thing in the universe) at lunch time, so I had a bagel with peanut butter and some extra pretzels, as well as some toast after my oatmeal at breakfast. And maybe a vegan peanut butter cookie from the Underground Bakery. Ok maybe I overdid it a little. You can’t just say *carbo load* and then expect me to do it moderately. I’m over it though because 1) yolo and 2) I’m worth it.

NMA advises against the typical pasta dinner carbo load, though, instead opting for a lighter nighttime fare. The ladies and I are going to take a trip down the street to the Whole Foods to a) grab supper from the salad/hot bars (again, YES PLEASE, considering i haven’t been to Whole Foods since school ended and the nearest one to my house is an hour away), b) grab something for me to have for breakfast early tomorrow morning (probably a bagel, some peanut butter, and some fruit), and c) check out the race route which is conveniently close to the Whole Foods. Meant to be.

So now, I’m drinking lots of water, trying to relax, and getting very very anxious for tomorrow. I still can’t fathom how it’s possible that my body is ready to run 13.1 miles.

Some concerns:

  • My legs are still a little spicy from the Nike event. Mostly my calves. I brought my rolling pin to try to roll them out tonight so we can only hope that will help.
  • The forecast is calling for sunshine and 84 degrees. Holy hot tamales.
  • I’ve never done a big road race before, so frankly I have no idea what the set up is like or where to have my mom and sister go to wait for me.
  • Mother nature decided today would be a good time to give me that oh so female gift. Seriously, so unnecessary mama nature!!!

But there are so many silver linings:

  • There’s a big beach party at the end of the race with snacks, smoothies, and discounted athletic apparel!
  • The race is huge! 5,000 runners and spectators and music along the way.
  • In addition to peeps and music, the race has aid stations every mile with water, gatorade, and even some snacks. And toilets, hallelujah! I’ve never run with any of these amenities so close– I feel like I’m being spoiled.
  • Tomorrow by noon, I will be a half-marathoner!!!!

I have no idea how I’ll feel tomorrow morning, or at the starting line, and definitely not at the starting line. All there’s left to do is make it to the starting line by 8:30 am and just RUN!

Dancing_Cat

AHHHHHHHHHHH

Currently watching: Cake Boss marathon

Currently reading: GULP by Mary Roach, THE REVOLUTION WILL NOT BE MICROWAVED by someone whose name i’ll figure out when i decide to get out of bed and get the book then edit this post, and ELLE with Shakira on the cover.

Currently in love with: my life

blood sweat and CHEERS,

cmoney

Leave a Reply

