Weeks 7 + 8 + 9 (the prodigal blogger/ excuse city… population: me)

Hi friends!

Yeah it’s been 3 weeks since I’ve posted. Fail.

My excuse? I’ll take you on a week-by-week excuse journey.

Week 7: My last week in NYC. Between packing to move out and doing all of my runs in the pouring rain, blogging wasn’t my priority. This week was also the first week I ran into the issue of not being able to do my long run on Saturday. My father picked me up to move me back home– 4 hours of sleep + 7 hours driving did NOT equal a run, even if that was just 4 miles. So I pushed it off until Sunday.

Week 8 excuses: Honestly there aren’t any good ones. I just didn’t blog. But my 10 mile run was TOTALLY AWESOME! I did it in just under 2 hours (about 1:50), averaging a little more than 11 minutes per mile. I finished the whole thing by 8 am! So killer. I also got a new waist pack to carry around my phone and credit card if needed.

Week 9: I was in Disney World. Pretty legit excuse! It was an amazingly fun time (I’ll post some pics below) however.. my running fell off the rails a little bit. I completed all my weekly runs and cross training (thankfully there was a fitness center right in our resort!) but when it came to Friday and my 11 miles, I just couldn’t get out of bed on the lack of sleep and Florida heat. So this week, I just skipped my long run. Could it hurt me in the long run? I don’t know. I guess we’ll find out in 2 weeks.

Now, I’m home, it’s summer, and I just put a loaf of pumpkin seed teff bread in the oven. I ran 4.5 miles this morning and it was quite magical.

Only 11 days until my half marathon!! EeeeeeK!!!

 

Home away from home!

Home away from home!

IMG_3115

My favorite souvenir. Pictured with coffee + Silk french vanilla creamer. Pure magic.

After I rode the tallest water slide in America!

After I rode the tallest water slide in America!

5967_10151695551682359_1461936523_n

It’s official… I’m transferring here.

day 8 and exhaustion levels were at an all time high.

day 8 and exhaustion levels were at an all time high.

We couldn't believe this guy *wasn't* Johnny Depp!

We couldn’t believe this guy *wasn’t* Johnny Depp!

At the Hoopdeedoo Revue my mostly veg family opted out of the typical BBQ ribs and fried chicken... so they made us this spread instead!

At the Hoopdeedoo Revue my mostly veg family opted out of the typical BBQ ribs and fried chicken… so they made us this spread instead!

Most of these pictures are stolen from my sister (Thanks Kel LOVE YOU) because I took pictures with a disposable Kodak camera.

But honestly… I want to work at Disney World. It’s *actually* the most magical place on earth! All the staff is literally required to be kind and open and welcoming… are you kidding me? It would be the best job ever. Much of the week, Kelly and I just contemplated the job satisfaction of the staff around the parks–from the popcorn dude to the waitress at the Revolutionary America themed restaurant to the boat driver from our resort to the dude who runs the Hollywood Tower of Terror. Who knows, this could be my new career path.

Well, that’s it for me! See you (I promise!!) in much less time than the last.

hugs and fairy kisses,

caitlin 🙂

Leave a Reply

