Days 72 + 73 + 74 (#trainfree)

The past 2 days have been insane amazing unreal absurd EPIC.

I mentioned on Tuesday that I was ok my way back to NYC for an awesome ever with Nike. And holy cow, it was awesome!!

Day 72: The event was for women to put their new Free Bionic shoe to the test, doing high intensity training (HIT) workouts in super public places around Brooklyn. Boy did Nike hook us up. On Tuesday night, my friends Ilse, Christina, Kelly, and I arrived at the Nike Flatiron running store to pick up our gear. It included: a sweet bag, some sports bras (one is orange polka dot. They get me.), 2 awesome tops, a great pair of shorts, the Nike Free Bionic shoe.

IMG_3153

Thanks for the free juice!

IMG_3145

The mannequins were modeled after us.

IMG_3147

How could we not smile with all that awesome Nike gear??

But the cherry on top: a fuel band!!!

I’m obsessed with this thing. It’s an amazing tool that syncs up with your Nike+ account and tracks your steps taken, calories burnt, and the fuel points you gain throughout your day. Plus it’s a sweet watch. There’s so many amazing things you can do with this thing too like setting daily goals, killer Nike+ missions, or if you’re like my friends and me, get way too competitive about who gets the most fuel points each day.

IMG_3156

Day 73: The event started at 7 pm, so my day was spent being a tourist, finally checking out the skyline (not before getting a peanut butter donut from Dunwell Donuts, of course)(hey, I’m carbo loading for the race! It’s all a sacrifice, I swear.), doing lots of reading in the sun, suffering from a sunburn because of it, and just touring the city I call home.

IMG_3158

My donut that kicked off my pre-race carbo load, but meant oh so much more.

IMG_3157

We were told to meet at the East River, rocking our new Nike swag and ready for the night of our lives. Upon arriving with my friend Kelly, hoping we would know where everyone was meeting, we were greeted by this:

IMG_3164

WE WERE LITERALLY *ON A BOAT* At that moment, all I could think was:

what is my life.

We boarded the boat and were immediately out on the deck doing a dynamic warm up to awesome pump up music (Iconopop? I’ll do some butt kicks to that!) and were on our way over to the BK. After multiple dance parties and checking our bags, we were back on the boat, headed to our HIT workout with our respective teams. My team ended up right by the Brooklyn Bridge, on a boardwalk swimming with people. We were essentially a fitness flashmob. And let me tell you, those were 30 minutes of some serious HIGH intensity.

It was amazing!! Not only was it a great workout, but I have to say, working out with so many strong and motivating women while people witnessed the fitness was incredibly empowering. Yeah, we’re women– now watch us kick ass!!

IMG_3165

One of the most BA people I know– my friend Christina.

Once we had seriously HIT it a bus took us to our after party, where hair and makeup was done for whomever wanted it, hors d’oeuvres were served to famished ladies, and most importantly: we celebrated our awesomeness! The winners were announced (alas, not my team but we still kicked butt!), trainer to the celebs as well as David Wilson from the Giants made appearances, and with that, our Nike fun came to a close.

IMG_3170

Celebrating our HIT success with some strong and incredible women!– Me, Ilse, Kelly, and Christina.

IMG_3174

A snapchat I sent to the majority of the people I know. I have no regrets.

According to my running plan, Day 73 was meant to be a 3 mile run. I’m okay with my substitution.

Day 74: Today was a rest day! Thankfully, too, because I had a nice 6 hour bus ride back home. En route, though, I got to stop in Cambridge to see my beautiful and perfect friend Allie and FINALLY go to Veggie Galaxy. We’ve been talking about it for months now, and now that I’ve been, I never want to go anywhere else. I got this awesome vegan eggs benedict, and Allie got a vegan omelette. Heaven.

IMG_3178

2 of my favorites: Allie and Breakfast food.

And now I close out Day 74, looking forward to my 2 mile run tomorrow and to 3 days from now when I run a freaking half-marathon.

I’m seriously in need of a good night sleep.

xoxo cat cat kitty cat caitlin

Leave a comment