Write and Run 31: Day 1

Anyone who has been reading along the past 2 sporadic years (yes, all three of you) has probably picked up on my penchant for fresh starts, life epiphanies, obsessive habit-changing, and No Meat Athlete. I’m here today to continue business as usual.

Yesterday, I listened to one of the latest episodes of the NMA Podcast (my podcast obsession has only grown), and Matt talked about his new project with his sister, Write and Run 31. The concept is committing to writing and running every day in January. I was sold. I love doing things just to prove I can do them and grow and be challenged and watch myself struggle and overcome. What can I say, it’s a hobby of mine. It couldn’t have come at a better time, either. Over the past 2-3 months, I have struggled to get in miles. My ankles throbbing, my hip flexors compensating, my morale dipped. Every week, I got a little farther behind in my marathon training. Every day I didn’t train, I felt weaker. I hated feeling like my body was controlling my life, not the other way around. My confidence dropped and a voice in the back of my head nagged daily, “you’re not going to be in shape for the marathon. you’ll never heal from this.”

But here we are, in 2015. I’ve got new shoes and like my good friend Paolo Nuitini says, suddenly everything is right! With lots of rest, time off the streets, and understanding that sore doesn’t mean broken, I’m back. My muscles are back in that constantly-slightly-sore-zone that reminds me that I’m strong. My laundry is once again filling faster with sports bras, thermal leggings, and stinky socks. And I’m feeling great.

 

With my athletic mojo back and my marathon training on track, I heard the call to form habits in the creative realm of my life and couldn’t have been more excited. Over the holidays, I made most of my gifts for friends and family; scarves, drawings, and personalized wall-hangings. I picked up the ukulele. It made me realize how much I love exercising my creative mind, but how infrequently I prioritize it. Even now, writing this post, I feel at ease, relaxed, happy. (Which is helpful, because the Patriots’ current performance is causing me enormous anxiety. Pull it together, T.B.) And during my half-marathon training, my blog motivated me to get juicy stories out of my training. I wanted fun stuff to write about, so in turn my training became full of fun things!

So I am back back back, back again! And I’m excited. 🙂

Today’s Workout: Light bike-riding, lots of ab-work, and intensive foam-rolling. 2 days ago, I did a stair-workout and my calves and quads are still whimpering. Tomorrow is a 6 mile run, so I wanted to take it easier today. (I’m interpreting the “run” part of Write and Run as “training.”)

Currently watching: Pats vs. Ravens. Boys are amped up. Edelman is a dreamboat. Crossing fingers and toes for this win.

Currently waiting for: Delivery.com. Hands down the best part about living in NYC is getting sushi and miso soup delivered to my building.

 

Leave a Reply

